Key agencies in charge of launching CPTPP named

VGP – PM Nguyen Xuan Phuc has signed a decision to task key agencies in launching the Comprehensive and Progressive Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP). 
The Ministry of Industry and Trade is the host agency to realize contents related to original terms and general definitions, trans-border trade service, competitive policies, cooperation and capacity enhancement, competitiveness improvement and facilitation of business operation, rules of origins and procedures for certification of origins, trade protection and temporary entry for businessmen. 

The Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development is assigned to hold responsible for food safety and animal and plant quarantine measures. 

Customs management and trade facilitation as well as contents related to tax, insurance and stock will be monitored by the Ministry of Finance.

The CPTPP is a new free trade agreement consisting of 11 country members: Australia, Brunei, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Viet Nam. 

The agreement was officially signed on March 8, 2018 in Santiago, Chile and has come into force since December 30, 2018 with the first six nations which completed ratification procedures including Mexico, Japan, Singapore, New Zealand, Canada and Australia. 

For Viet Nam, the agreement took effect on January 14, 2019. 

By Thuy Dung

Comments Your comment must be approved before publishing